Special: Highland Festival - 9 days

Tour Details & Information - Individual Private Tour, Tour Code: SI-IRJ-06

Detailed Itinerary

Day 1: Begin of Tour Jayapura (Irian Jaya/West Papua) - Baliem Valley/Wamena (L/D)

Baliem Valley Resort © WeigleinBaliem Valley ResortThis tour is fully booked for 2017. We are happy to advise you on the 2018 schedule.
(05.08.2018) Arrival at Jayapura Airport in West papua in the Morning. Short transit and flight to Wamena. After lunch visit the local market. Afterwards transfer to Baliem Valley Resort.

Day 2: Baliem Valley/Wamena (B/L/D)

Kurulu Mummy © Baliem Valley ResortKurulu Mummy(06.08.2018) In the morning, one-hour trip to Jiwikia, in the middle of the Baliem Valley. Start of a one-hour uphill hike (approx. 1,000 feet altitude difference) through stunning mountain rainforest to the traditional salt spring of the Dani tribe. Local women dressed in traditional tribal clothes will accompany us and show us their ancestral salt production techniques. After the walk down we will take a picnic lunch at the foot of the mountain. We will then walk to the nearby Kurulu village where you can admire the ancient mummy of the famous Dugum clan. Afterwards, the women show us how they process the brine they extracted from the spring. We will see more quaint and picturesque Dani homesteads. Wherever we go, friendly Papuans offers their arts and craft, weapons, and all kinds of curiosities for sale. Return to the resort in the afternoon.

Day 3: Baliem Valley/Wamena (B/L/D)

Baliem Valley © Ministry of Culture and Tourism, Republic of IndonesiaBaliem Valley(07.08.2018) In the morning, drive to the southern Baliem Valley past Wamena. By the village of Sogogmo, not quite 2 miles outside Kurima, the road ends. This is where our hike along the huge Baliem river starts. First we cross the roaring Baliem river on a traditional suspension bridge. We continue through romantic Dani settlements with their terraced fields and wild sugar cane groves. Throughout the hike we enjoy magnificent views of the river and the narrow valley. Around noon we get to the church square of Seinma, where we eat our picnic lunch surrounded by stunning scenery. Outside Kurima we cross the river again on a wild and romantic suspension bridge. To return to our vehicle we need to cross a few side valleys. There will be many unique photo opportunities today. We get back to the resort in late afternoon.

Day 4: Baliem Valley/Wamena (B/L/D)

People of West Papua © Ministry of Culture and Tourism, Republic of IndonesiaPeople of West Papua(08.08.2018) After breakfast drive to festival ground in Wosilimo/Kurulu dirstrict. The opening ceremony will be held there. Return to the resort in the afternoon.
Program Day 1 (09:00 - 16:00):
1. Performance tribal war
2. Competitive games between children from Puradan
3. Competitive games between children from Sikoko
4. Attraction of the day: Feast with traditional cooking
5. Performance of traditional dances
6. Competition in archery
7. Competition in javelin
8. Competition in manufacturing traditional craftsmanship
9. Competition in playing the traditional jaw harp

Day 5: Baliem Valley/Wamena (B/L/D)

Baliem Valley Dani © WeigleinBaliem Valley Dani(09.08.2018) After breakfast drive to festival ground in Wosilimo/Kurulu dirstrict. Return to the resort in the afternoon.
Program Day 2 (09:00 - 16:00):
1. Performance tribal war
2. Performance of traditional dances
3. Competition in manufacturing traditional craftsmanship
4. Competition pig race
5. Competition in javelin
6. Competition in archery
7. Attraction of the day: Feast with traditional cooking
8. Competition in playing the traditional jaw harp
9. Competitive games between children from Puradan
10. Competitive games between children from Sikoko

Day 6: Baliem Valley/Wamena (B/L/D)

Baliem Valley Resort © Baliem Valley ResortBaliem Valley Resort(10.08.2018) In the morning, drive to the Siepkosi church. From here we set off on an easy hike to the Pugima Valley. On the way there we pass the area where the Yuan River comes to the surface in a big cave full of stalactites and stalagmites. The expansive and fertile Pugima Valley is densely populated, with large gardens and fields cultivated by the highland Papuans. We visit a homestead that houses what is probably the only pottery in the valley. In very humble conditions people create the most beautiful clay objects – many of which are a permanent fixture in the resort. Around noon we reach the Baliem River in the Wesaput region, where we have our outdoor picnic lunch. Before we get to our vehicle we cross the river on a large suspension bridge. Drive back to the resort through Wamena, where we have time to do a bit of shopping.

Day 7: Baliem Valley/Wamena (B/L/D)

Baliem Valley Dani © WeigleinBaliem Valley Dani(11.08.2018) Breakfast at the resort. Drive to the festival grounds for the last time. There will be a colorful parade with all participating tribes. Later return to the resort.

Day 8: Baliem Valley/Wamena - Jayapura (City) (B/L/D)

Swiss-Belhotel Papua © Swiss-Belhotel InternationalSwiss-Belhotel Papua(12.08.2018) In the morning flight to Jayapura. Transfer to city hotel. Later sightseing tour including visit to Hamadi Beach. Overnight in Jayapura.

Day 9: Jayapura (City) - End of Tour Jayapura (Irian Jaya/West Papua) (B)

(13.08.2018) Breakfast at hotel. Moring free at leisure until airport transfer.

Rates, Hotels & Information

Rates
Options Comfort
Rate per person EUR 2.960
USD 3,545
Based on individual private tour, min. 2 travellers in double/twin room
Changing or adapting this tour to match your personal needs, interests and wishes is, as always, possible. Please contact us! Group rates (closed groups only, min. 4 Pax) on request.
Single Supplement On Request
Hotels for this Tour
(Changing the hotels according to your wishes is no problem!)
LocationComfort Hotels
Baliem Valley/WamenaBaliem Valley Resort

Honay Villa
Jayapura (City)Swiss-Belhotel Papua

Superior

Use our travel bag to remember tours and quickly access them later through the Travel Bag Menue (, comes up as soon as you add a tour) - Or to add them to a tour request for an individual offer.

Add to your travel bag list
Map

In progress

Information, Services, Remarks
Depart/Arrive:

Jayapura (Irian Jaya/West Papua) / Jayapura (Irian Jaya/West Papua)

Hotel/Airport Transfers:

Transfers are inclusive from and to above mentioned airports and hotels of the immediate area.

Services (included):

Group tour (SIC)
English speaking guide
Air-conditioned car with driver
Accomodation: DBL room hotel (as stated or similar)
Transfers, Entrance fees as per itinerary
Travel permit (surat jalan)
Domestic flights: Jayapura – Wamena – Jayapura
Meal Plan as stated:
8x Breakfast 8x Lunch/Lunchbox 8x Dinner

Not included

Own expenses
Additional services (marked 'optional' above)
Programme not mentioned above
Season Surcharges

Important Remarks:

Min. 2 Persons. Single traveller rates on request.
Important information for traveler: Outside of highly touristic regions like Bali there is only a limited touristic infrastructure available. Regular flight connections, restaurants and hotels (all classes from simple to high end) are limited. Flight cancellations and delays are quite common. Please don't expect amenities like warm water, air-conditioning and even comfortable beds at all hotels and homestays during the round trip. This applies especially outside of bigger cities.
This round trip includes flights with an indonesian airline. Most indonesian airlines are blacklisted by the EU. Please check the EU Air Safety List.
- Low difficulty (1/5): Easy tours with no special physical demands.
Please pay attention to the Travel Information provided.
When travelling islamic countries there can be interference during the month of Ramadan, other high holidays and fridays.
Volcanism: The Sunda Islands and the Sunda Archipelago are of volcanic orgin and show high volcanic activity. Accrodingly it may be possible that tours, routings and activities (especially those involving or near volcanoes) need to be altered in case of high activity or order by the government.

Special: Highland Festival - 9 Tage

Reisedetails & Informationen - Individuelle Rundreise/Privatreise, Tourcode: SI-IRJ-06

Detailierter Reiseverlauf

Tag 1: Tourstart Jayapura (Irian Jaya/West Papua) - Baliem Valley/Wamena (MA)

Baliem Valley Resort © WeigleinBaliem Valley ResortDie Tour ist für 2017 bereits ausgebucht. Wir beraten Sie gerne zur Planung 2018.
(05.08.2018) Am Morgen erreichen Sie den Flughafen von Jayapura in West Papua. Dort werden Sie begrüßt und reisen nach kurzem Transit zum Baliem Valley weiter. Nach dem Mittagessen, Besuch des lokalen Marktes in Wamena. Transfer zum The Baliem Valley Resort.

Tag 2: Baliem Valley/Wamena (FMA)

Kurulu Mumie © Baliem Valley ResortKurulu Mumie(06.08.2018) Morgens Frühstück im Resort. Dann brechen Sie zu der einstündigen Fahrt nach Jiwika im mittleren Baliem-Tal auf. Dort beginnt eine ca. einstündigen Wanderung bergauf (ca. 300 Höhenmeter) durch einen herrlichen Bergregenwald zur traditionellen Salzquelle der Dani. Einheimische Frauen in Stammestracht werden Sie begleiten. Diese werden Ihnen die altüberlieferten Techniken der Salzgewinnung demonstrieren. Nach dem Abstieg Picknick-Lunch am Fuß des Berges ein. Gemeinsam mit Ihrem Führer wandern Sie dann zum nahen Kurulu-Weiler, wo eine uralte Mumie des berühmten Dugum-Clans zu bewundern ist. Anschließend zeigen Ihnen die Frauen, wie die mitgebrachte Salzsole weiterverarbeitet wird. In der Nachbarschaft des Weiler stehen noch weitere malerisch-urige Dani-Gehöfte. Überall bieten die freundlichen Ureinwohner traditionelles Kunsthandwerk, Waffen und allerlei Kuriositäten zum Kauf an. Am Nachmittag Rückfahrt zum Resort.

Tag 3: Baliem Valley/Wamena (FMA)

Baliem Valley © Ministry of Culture and Tourism, Republic of IndonesiaBaliem Valley(07.08.2018) Frühstück im Resort. Anschließend Fahrt über Wamena in den südlichen Teil des Baliem-Tal. Während der heutigen Wanderung werden Ihnen zahlreiche erinnerungswürdige Fotomotive begegnen. Bei der Ortschaft Sogogmo, etwa 3 Kilometer vor Kurima, endet die befestigte Straße. Hier beginnt die Wanderung entlang des mächtigen Baliem-Flußes. Zunächst muß eine urige Hängebrücke über den wilden Baliem überquert werden. Weiter geht es durch romantische Dani-Siedlungen mit terrassierten Feldanlagen und wilden Zuckerrohrhainen. Unterwegs bietet sich Ihnen immer ein herrlicher Blick über den Fluß und das enge Tal. Gegen Mittag erreichen Sie den Kirchplatz von Seinma. Picknick-Lunch. Vor Kurima überqueren Sie nochmals eine wildromantische Hängebrücke und durchwandern kleine Seitentäler. Schließlich erreichen Sie das Fahrzeug un dwerden zurück zum The Baliem Valley Resort gebracht. Ankunft im Resort am späten Nachmittag.

Tag 4: Baliem Valley/Wamena (FMA)

Bewohner von West Papua © Ministry of Culture and Tourism, Republic of IndonesiaBewohner von West Papua(08.08.2018) Am Morgen Fahrt zum Festivalgelände in Wosilimo/Distrikt Kurulu. Dort findet am Vormittag die große Eröffnungszeremonie des Highland Festivals statt. Das heutige Programm wird voraussichtlich zwischen 09:00 Uhr bis 16:00 Uhr stattfinden. Am Nachmittag Rückkehr zum Resort.
Programm Tag 1:
1. Aufführung Strammeskrieg
2. Wettkampfspiele der Kinder aus Puradan
3. Wettkampfspiele der Kinder aus Sikoko
4. Attraktion des Tages: Festgelage mit Kochen in der Erdgrube
5. Aufführung traditioneller Tänze
6. Wettkampf Bogenschießen
7. Wettkampf Speerwerfen
8. Wettbewerb im Anfertigen traditioneller Handwerkskunst
9. Wettbewerb im Spielen mit der Maultrommel

Tag 5: Baliem Valley/Wamena (FMA)

Baliem Valley Dani © WeigleinBaliem Valley Dani(09.08.2018) Frühstück im Resort und Fahrt zum Festivalgelände. Rückkehr zum Resort im Laufe des Nachmittags.
Programm Tag 2 (09:00 - 16:00 Uhr):
1. Aufführung Stammeskrieg
2. Aufführung traditioneller Tänze
3. Wettbewerb im Anfertigen traditioneller Handwerkskunst
4. Wettkampf Schweine-Rennen
5. Wettkampf Speerwerfen
6. Wettkampf Bogenschießen
7. Attraktion des Tages: Festgelage mit Kochen in der Erdgrube
8. Wettbewerb iim Spielen mit der traditionellen Maultrommel
9. Wettkampfspiele der Kinder aus Puradan
10. Wettkampfspiele der Kinder aus Sikoko

Tag 6: Baliem Valley/Wamena (FMA)

Baliem Valley Resort © Baliem Valley ResortBaliem Valley Resort(10.08.2018) Morgens Fahrt zur Siepkosi-Kirche. Von hier aus beginnt die leichte Wanderung in das Pugima-Tal. Unterwegs passieren Sie die Stelle, wo der Yuan-Fluß in einer großen Höhle mit unzähligen Stalagtiten und Stalagmiten wieder an die Oberfläche kommt. Das weite und fruchtbare Pugima-Tal ist stark besiedelt mit großen Garten- und Feldanlagen der Bergpapuas. In einem Gehöft besuchen Sie die einzige Töpferei im Tal. Unter einfachsten Verhältnissen werden hier wunderschöne Tonobjekte hergestellt. Gegen Mittag erreichen Sie den Baliem-Fluss in der Region Wesaput. Picknick-Lunch. Bevor Sie das Fahrzeug wieder erreichen, muss eine große Hängebrücke über den Fluss überquert werden. Rückfahrt ins Resort über Wamena, wobei noch Gelegenheit für kleine Einkäufe besteht.

Tag 7: Baliem Valley/Wamena (FMA)

Baliem Valley Dani © WeigleinBaliem Valley Dani(11.08.2018) Frühstück im Resort. Am Morgen fahren Sie nochmal zum Festivalgelände. Dort findet die als abschließende Veranstaltung eine Parade der teilnehmenden Stämme in farbefrohen Kostümen statt. Später Rückkehr zum Resort.

Tag 8: Baliem Valley/Wamena - Jayapura (City) (FMA)

Swiss-Belhotel Papua © Swiss-Belhotel InternationalSwiss-Belhotel Papua(12.08.2018) Am Morgen fliegen Sie zurück nach Jayapura und werden in das Hotel in der Stadt gebracht. Nach dem Check-in Stadtrundfahrt und Besuch von Hamadi Beach. Übernachtung in Jayapura.

Tag 9: Jayapura (City) - Tourende Jayapura (Irian Jaya/West Papua) (F)

(13.08.2018) Frühstück im Hotel. Der Tag steht Ihnen bis zum Flughafentransfer zur freien Verfügung.

Preise, Hotels & Informationen

Preise
Optionen Komfort
Preis pro Person EUR 2.960,-
CHF 3.404,-
Individuelle Privatreise mit 2 Personen im Doppelzimmer.
Änderungen und Anpassungen der Reise an Ihre Wünsche sind natürlich möglich, setzen Sie sich einfach mit uns in Verbindung. Gruppenpreise (nur für geschlossene Privatgruppen, ab 4 Personen) auf Anfrage.
EZ-Zuschlag Auf Anfrage
Ihre Hotels für diese Reise
(Änderungen auf Ihre Wunschhotels sind natürlich kein Problem!)
OrtKomfort Hotels
Baliem Valley/WamenaBaliem Valley Resort

Honay Villa
Jayapura (City)Swiss-Belhotel Papua

Superior

Nutzen Sie die Reisetasche um sich Reisen für später zu merken und schnell über das Menue mit der Reisetasche (, erscheint sobald Sie eine Reise ablegen) wieder wieder aufzurufen - Oder um sie Ihrer Reiseanfrage hinzuzufügen wenn wir Ihr Interesse geweckt haben und Sie sich ein individuelles Angebot erstellen lassen möchten.

In Ihrer Reisetasche merken
Karte

Kommt noch

Informationen, Leistungen, Hinweise
Abfahrts-/Ankunftsort:

Jayapura (Irian Jaya/West Papua) / Jayapura (Irian Jaya/West Papua)

Hotel/Flughafen Transfers:

Transfers inklusive von und zu den oben genannten Flughäfen und Hotels in der unmittelbaren Region.

Leistungen (inklusive):

Tourverlauf als Gruppentour
Englischsprachige Reiseleitung
Klimatisiertes Fahrzeug mit Fahrer
Übernachtungen: DZ angegebene/gleichwertige Hotels
Transfers, Eintrittsgelder und Besichtigungen laut Programm
Polizeiliche Reiseerlaubnis (surat jalan)
Inlandsflüge: Jayapura – Wamena – Jayapura
Verpflegung wie angegeben:
8x Frühstück 8x Mittagessen/Lunchbox 8x Abendessen

Nicht enthalten sind:

Eigene Ausgaben
Zusatzleistungen (als "optional" gekennzeichnet)
Nicht genanntes Programm
Saisonaufschläge

Wichtige Hinweise:

Die Mindestteilnehmerzahl beträgt 2 Personen. Preise für Einzelreisende auf Anfrage.
Hinweis für Reisen in infrastrukturell schwache Gebiete:
Die Regionen außerhalb der Ballungszentren in Indonesien (Java und Bali) sowie Timor-Leste (Dili) sind zum Teil kaum touristisch entwickelt. Die nötige Infrastruktur in Form von regelmäßigen Flugverbindungen, Restaurants und Hotels von einfacher bis gehobener Kategorie befindet sich im Aufbau. Flugverspätungen und -streichungen sind üblich. Warmwasser in den Bädern, Klimaanlage und bequeme Betten in den Zimmern sind kein Standard, den man immer und überall erwarten kann. Möglicherweise haben die Sprachkenntnisse und Kommunikationsfähigkeiten der Guides nur einen geringen Umfang und können sehr von lokalen kulturellen Besonderheiten geprägt sein. Reisen durch diese Gebiete haben z.T. Expeditionscharakter. Das betrifft u.a. Reisen in Sumatra, Kalimantan, Sulawesi, die Kleinen Sunda-Inseln/Nusa Tenggara und andere Gebiete in Ostindonesien sowie Timor-Leste.
Diese Rundreise enthält Inlandsflüge. Die meisten indonesischen Fluggesellschaften stehen auf der Schwarzen Liste der Europäischen Union. Bitte beachten Sie unbedingt die Reiseinformationen zu Inlandsflügen!
- Niedriger Schwierigkeitsgrad (1/5): Einfache Tour mit geringem physischen Anspruch.
Bitte beachten Sie die Reiseinformationen und unsere Packliste für die Region.
Bei Reisen in islamische Länder kann es während dem Fastenmonat Ramadan, an hohen Feiertagen und Freitagen zu Beeinträchtigungen kommen.
Vulkanismus: Die Sunda-Inseln sind größtenteils vulkanischen Ursprungs und weisen hohe vulkanische Aktivität auf. Entsprechend ist es möglich, dass Routen oder Besichtigungen, insbesondere Besichtigungen von Vulkanen, auf Grund von aktueller Aktivität und daraus resultierenden Sperrungen geändert und durch Alternativprogramm/-routen ersetzt werden müssen. Den aktuellen Status der wichtigsten Vulkane finden Sie hier: Aktueller Status der Vulkane auf den Sunda-Inseln.

Flugempfehlung(en):

Wir empfehlen folgende Flugverbindungen und buchen diese gerne zusammen mit Ihrem Wunschprogramm für Sie:
Singapore Airlines/Silk Air Singapore Airlines/Silk Air (z.B. mit Singapore Stopover) nach Denpasar (Bali).
Zusätzlich benötigen Sie Inlandsflüge von Denpasar (Bali) nach Jayapura (Irian Jaya/West Papua) und zurück die wir gerne für Sie buchen.
Diese Inlandsflüge sind mit Garuda Indonesia durchführbar und damit von der EU-Blacklist NICHT betroffen.
Singapore Airlines/Silk Air Singapore Airlines/Silk Air (z.B. mit Singapore Stopover) nach Makassar (Sulawesi).
Zusätzlich benötigen Sie Inlandsflüge von Makassar (Sulawesi) nach Jayapura (Irian Jaya/West Papua) und zurück die wir gerne für Sie buchen.
Diese Inlandsflüge sind mit Garuda Indonesia durchführbar und damit von der EU-Blacklist NICHT betroffen.
Bitte beachten Sie unbedingt die Reiseinformationen zu Inlandsflügen!

Reiseführer zu dieser Reise (bei Amazon):

Amazon Buchtitel Amazon Buchtitel Amazon Buchtitel Amazon Buchtitel Amazon Buchtitel