Tana Toraja and Lore Lindu National Park - 12 days

Tour Details & Information - Individual Private Tour, Tour Code: SI-UPG-PLW

Detailed Itinerary

Day 1: Begin of Tour Makassar (Sulawesi) - Pare Pare - Rantepao (L/D)

Western coast, Sulawesi © Christopher MisslingWestern coast, SulawesiYou will be greeted by your personal guide at the airport of Makassar (Ujung Pandang) in the morning. Together, you will start your journey to Tana Toraja. The ride will take all day. First, you will travel along the west coast of South Sulawesi. Lunch is served in the coastal town of Pare-Pare. A short time later, you drive to the highlands. At Puncak Lakawan, you stop for a coffee break, before reaching Rantepao in the late afternoon. Dinner and overnight at the hotel.

Day 2: Rantepao (B/L/D)

Tau-Tau Tana TorajaTau-Tau Tana TorajaAfter breakfast, explore the surrounding area with your guide. The highland region of Toraja has a lot to offer. In Lemo, graves have been hewn into the steep rocks, and on the balconies in front of them are 'Tau-Taus', portraits of the dead who look to the living. Many members of the local nobility are buried in the caves of Londa. The village of Kete Kesu is famous for its wood carvings and paintings. Lunch on the way. Dinner and overnight at hotel in Rantepao.

Day 3: Rantepao - Palopo - Pendolo (B/L/D)

Sulaweis Highland © Christopher MisslingSulaweis HighlandIn the morning, after breakfast, head for Central Sulawesi. The destination is Pendolo on the southern bank of Danau Poso. From the highlands, you will first drive to Palopo, the administrative capital of the Luwu region on the Gulf of Bone. Palopo was the residence of the kings of Luwu, one of the most powerful empires of Sulawesi between the 10th and 14th centuries. The base for their wealth was the trade of metals, which could be used for weapon production. Trade relations extended to Sumatra and China. The last Prince of Luwu, Andi Jemma, died in 1965. Lunch on the way and visit an irrigation project in Batu Citundac. With some luck you can see the processing of Sago in Masamba. In the afternoon you will reach Pendolo. Dinner and overnight in a typical Losmen/guest house.

Day 4: Pendolo - Tentena (B/L/D)

Breakfast at the guest house, then continue to Tentana. You drive around Lake Poso. The fresh water lake in the center of Sulawesi, covers an area of ​​323qkm and is 450m deep at its deepest point. White sand beaches surround the inland waters which are considered the most beautiful and clearest of the island. The lake is home to a number of endemic fish species, such as the duck-billed carnivore (Adrianichtys kruyti) and the stretched Poso-Karp (Xenopoecilus poptae). On the way you'll visit the orchid forest in Bancea. Lunch on the way. In the northwest of Tentana visit the multi-staged waterfall Air Terjun Salopa near Tonsu. On the way to the waterfall you will pass Balinese Transmigrasi villages. Dinner and overnight at Losmen/Guesthouse in Tentana.

Day 5: Tentena (B/L/D)

After breakfast, visit the Gua Pamona Cave. In this and other caves around the lake artifacts from the Southeast Asian Bronze Age were found in the 1970s. The so-called dong-son culture is the combination of Stone Age and Bronze Age techniques in art. Later you will visit another waterfall. The Air Terjun Sulewana is located near the village of the same name, and it plunges one kilometer into the deep. Lunch on the way. The afternoon is at leisure. You can go for a walk or swim at the lake. Return to Losmen/Guesthouse, dinner and overnight.

Day 6: Tentena - Bomba (B/L/D)

Megalith, Lore Lindu National Park © John-Michael KästnerMegalith, Lore Lindu National ParkAfter breakfast at the lodge, you will be taken to the Bada Valley, the ride will take about four hours. The valley is known for the traces of a past megalithic culture. There are menhirs, also known as standing stones. These are carved, elongated stones, which were placed in a well-known way. The background of megalithic culture in the Bada Valley is not completely known. In the valley you can also find stone-tubs called Kalamba of enormous size with carved faces. Picnic lunch on the way. In the afternoon visit megaliths near the village of Bomba. Dinner and overnight in Bomba.

Day 7: Bomba - Tuare (B/L/D)

The day begins with a simple breakfast in the lodge before you undertake a long trekking through the land of the megaliths in Tuare. Today you will cross the river Lariang, which flows through the whole valley. Rope bridges help to reach the other side. You visit the megaliths in Palindo, Sepe, Maturu and Oba. Picnic lunch on the way. Dinner and overnight with a host family in the village of Tuare.

Day 8: Tuare - Moa (B/L/D)

Today's destination is the Lore Lindu National Park on the border between the districts of Dongalla in the west and Poso in the east. The journey is expected to take about 7 hours. Picnic lunch en route. There is the possibility to swim in the river. Dinner and overnight in a guest house in the village of Moa.

Day 9: Moa - Kababuru (B/L/D)

In the morning, leave Moa and hike to Kababuru. Your path takes you through jungle and tropical rain forest. You will be on the road for 7 hours depending on your stamina. The sounds of the forest will accompany you and you will be able to have different bird watching possibilities. Picnic lunch on the way. Dinner and overnight in a tent at Kababuru (Camp). We recommend bringing a sleeping bag suited for tropical climate.

Day 10: Kababuru - Donggala (B/L/D)

Bungalow Prince John Dive Resort © Prince John TauchresortBungalow Prince John Dive ResortAfter breakfast, continue to Gimpu. For today's route, you will probably need about 5 hours. Picnic lunch on the way. From Gimpu drive to Tanjung Karang in Donggala district. Dinner and overnight at Prince John Dive Resort.

Day 11: Donggala (B/L/D)

Beach Prince John Dive Resort © Prince John TauchresortBeach Prince John Dive ResortIn Donggala, a morning horseback ride through the tranquil village and the harbor awaits you. After lunch, relax at the white sand beach. There is also the possibility to dive or snorkel at the surrounding reefs. Dinner and overnight at the hotel.

Day 12: Donggala - End of Tour Palu (Sulawesi) (B)

After breakfast transfer to Palu airport.

Rates, Hotels & Information

Rates
Options Comfort Deluxe
Rate per person EUR 1.240
USD 1,510
EUR 1.344
USD 1,639
Based on individual private tour, min. 2 travellers in double/twin room
Changing or adapting this tour to match your personal needs, interests and wishes is, as always, possible. Please contact us! Group rates (closed groups only, min. 4 Pax) on request.
Single Supplement EUR 214
USD 261
EUR 244
USD 298
Single Traveller EUR 2.230
USD 2,720
EUR 2.415
USD 2,950
Hotels for this Tour
(Changing the hotels according to your wishes is no problem!)
LocationComfort HotelsDeluxe Hotels
RantepaoToraja Misiliana Hotel

Standard
Toraja Heritage Hotel

Superior
PendoloHotel Mulia
Homestay/Guesthouse
Hotel Mulia
Homestay/Guesthouse
TentenaHotel Intim
Homestay/Guesthouse
Hotel Intim
Homestay/Guesthouse
BombaBomba Guesthouse
Homestay/Guesthouse
Bomba Guesthouse
Homestay/Guesthouse
TuareLocal People House
Homestay/Guesthouse
Local People House
Homestay/Guesthouse
MoaLocal People House
Homestay/Guesthouse
Local People House
Homestay/Guesthouse
KababuruLocal People House
Homestay/Guesthouse
Local People House
Homestay/Guesthouse
DonggalaPrince John Dive Resort

Bungalow
Prince John Dive Resort

Bungalow

Use our travel bag to remember tours and quickly access them later through the Travel Bag Menue (, comes up as soon as you add a tour) - Or to add them to a tour request for an individual offer.

Add to your travel bag list
Map

In progress

Information, Services, Remarks
Depart/Arrive:

Makassar (Sulawesi) / Palu (Sulawesi)

Hotel/Airport Transfers:

Transfers are inclusive from and to above mentioned airports and hotels of the immediate area.

Services (included):

Private tour
English speaking guide
Air-conditioned car with driver
Accomodation: DBL room hotels (or similar)
Transfers, Entrance fees as per itinerary
Meal Plan as stated:
11x Breakfast 11x Lunch/Lunchbox 11x Dinner

Not included

Own expenses
Additional services (marked 'optional' above)
Programme not mentioned above
Season Surcharges

Important Remarks:

Important information for traveler: Outside of highly touristic regions like Bali there is only a limited touristic infrastructure available. Regular flight connections, restaurants and hotels (all classes from simple to high end) are limited. Flight cancellations and delays are quite common. Please don't expect amenities like warm water, air-conditioning and even comfortable beds at all hotels and homestays during the round trip. This applies especially outside of bigger cities.
Min. 2 Persons. Single traveller rates on request.
Please pay attention to the Travel Information provided.
When travelling islamic countries there can be interference during the month of Ramadan, other high holidays and fridays.
Volcanism: The Sunda Islands and the Sunda Archipelago are of volcanic orgin and show high volcanic activity. Accrodingly it may be possible that tours, routings and activities (especially those involving or near volcanoes) need to be altered in case of high activity or order by the government.

Tana Toraja und Lore Lindu Nationalpark - 12 Tage

Reisedetails & Informationen - Individuelle Rundreise/Privatreise, Tourcode: SI-UPG-PLW

Detailierter Reiseverlauf

Tag 1: Tourstart Makassar (Sulawesi) - Pare Pare - Rantepao (MA)

Küste in Südsulawesi © Christopher MisslingKüste in SüdsulawesiSie werden am Morgen am Flughafen von Makassar (Ujung Pandang) von Ihrer persönlichen Reiseleitung begrüßt. Gemeinsam brechen Sie zur Fahrt nach Tana Toraja auf. Die Fahrt wird den ganzen Tag dauern. Zunächst führt Sie Ihr Weg entlang der Westküste von Südsulawesi. Das Mittagessen nehmen Sie im Küstenort Para-Pare ein. Kurze Zeit später fahren Sie ins Hochland. Am Puncak Lakawan unterbrechen Sie die Reise für eine Kaffeepause, bevor Sie am späten Nachmittag Rantepao erreichen. Abendessen und Übernachtung im Hotel.

Tag 2: Rantepao (FMA)

Tau-Tau Tana TorajaTau-Tau Tana TorajaNach dem Frühstück erkunen Sie mit Ihrem Guide die Umgebung. Die Hochlandregion der Toraja hat einiges zu bieten. In Lemo sind Gräber in die steile Felswand gehauen worden und auf den Balkonen davor stehen "Tau-Taus", Bildnisse der Toten, die auf die Lebenden schauen. Viele Angehörige des lokalen Adels sind in den Höhlengräbern von Londa begraben. Das Dorf Kete Kesu ist bekannt für seine Holzschnitzarbeiten und Malereien. Mittagessen unterwegs. Abendessen und Übernachtung im Hotel in Rantepao.

Tag 3: Rantepao - Palopo - Pendolo (FMA)

Hochland von Sulawesi © Christopher MisslingHochland von SulawesiAm Morgen brechen Sie nach dem Frühstück in Richtung Zentralsulawesi auf. Ziel ist der Ort Pendolo am südlichen Ufer des Danau Poso. Aus dem Hochland fahren Sie zunächst nach Palopo, der Verwaltungshauptstadt der Region Luwu am Golf von Bone. Palopo war sitz der Könige von Luwu, die zwischen dem 10. und 14. Jh. eines der mächtigsten Reiche von Sulawesi unterhielten. Grundlage für den Reichtum war der Handel mit Metallen, die zur Waffenherstellung genutzt werden konnten. Die Handelsbeziehungen erstreckten sich bis nach Sumatra und China. Der letzte Fürst der Luwu, Andi Jemma, verstarb 1965. Mittagessen unterwegs und Besichtigung eines Bewässerungsprojekts in Batu Citundac. Mit etwas Glück können Sie in Masamba die Verarbeitung von Sago sehen. Am Nachmittag erreichen Sie Pendolo. Abendessen und Übernachtung in einem landestypischen Losmen/Gästehaus.

Tag 4: Pendolo - Tentena (FMA)

Frühstück im Gästehaus. Anschließend fahren Sie weiter nach Tentana. Sie umfahren den Lake Poso. Der Süßwassersee im Zentrum von Sulawesi bedeckt eine Fläche von 323qkm und ist an seiner tiefsten Stelle 450m tief. Das mit weißen Sandstränden gesäumten Binnengewässer gilt als schönste und klarste See der Insel. Der See beheimatet mehrere endemische Fischarten, wie z.B. den Entenschnabelkärpfling (Adrianichtys kruyti) und den Gestreckten Poso-Kärpfling (Xenopoecilus poptae). Unterwegs besuchen Sie den Orchideenwald in Bancea. Mittagessen unterwegs. Nordwestlich von Tentana besuchen Sie den mehrstufigen Wasserfall Air Terjun Salopa bei Tonsu. Auf dem Weg zum Wasserfall kommt man an balinesischen Transmigrasi-Dörfern vorbei. Später Abendessen und Übernachtung im Losmen/Gästehaus in Tentana.

Tag 5: Tentena (FMA)

Nach dem Frühstück besuchen Sie die Gua Pamona Höhle. In dieser und weiteren Höhlen rund um den See hat man in den 1970er Jahren Artefakte aus der südostasiatischen Bronzezeit gefunden. Merkmal der sog. Dong-son Kultur ist die Verbindung steinzeitlicher und bronzezeitlicher (Kunst-)Techniken. Später besuchen Sie einen weiteren sehenswerten Wasserfall. Der Air Terjun Sulewana befindet sich in der Nähe des geichnamigen Dorfes und stürzt sich dort einen Kilometer in die Tiefe. Mittagessen unterwegs. Der Nachmittag steht Ihnen zur freien Verfügung. Sie können am See spazieren gehen oder schwimmen. Danach Rückkehr zum Losmen/Gästehaus, Dinner und Übernachtung.

Tag 6: Tentena - Bomba (FMA)

Megalith Lore Lindu Nationalpark © John-Michael KästnerMegalith Lore Lindu NationalparkNach dem Frühstück in der Lodge brechen Sie zur ca. vierstündigen Fahrt in das Bada Valley auf. Das Tal ist für die dort zu findenden Spuren einer vergangenen Megalithkultur bekannt. Dort finden sich Menhire, die auch als Hinkelstein bekannt sind. Dabei handelt es sich um bearbeitete, längliche Steine, die hochkannt aufgestellt wurden. Der Hintergrund der megalithischen Kultur im Bada Valley ist nicht bekannt. Im dem Tal kann man neben Menhiren auch Kalamba genannte Steinbottiche von gewaltiger Größe mit eingemeißelten Gesichtern sehen. Picknicklunch unterwegs. Am Nachmittag besichtigen Sie Megalithe in der Nähe des Dorfes Bomba. Abendessen und Übernachtung in Bomba.

Tag 7: Bomba - Tuare (FMA)

Der Tag beginnt mit einem einfachen Frühstück in der Lodge, bevor Sie ein mehrstündiges Trekking durch das Land der Megalithe in Tuare unternehmen. Heute werden Sie u.a. den Fluss Lariang überqueren, der durch das ganze Tal fließt. Hängebrücken helfen dabei das andere Ufer zu erreichen. Sie besuchen die Megalithe in Palindo, Sepe, Maturu und Oba. Picknicklunch unterwegs. Abendessen und Übernachtung bei einer Gastfamilie im Dorf Tuare.

Tag 8: Tuare - Moa (FMA)

Ihr heutiges Ziel ist der Lore Lindu Nationalpark an der Grenze zwischen den Distrikten Dongalla im Westen und Poso im Osten. Die Fahrt wird voraussichtlich 7 Stunden dauern. Unterwegs Picknicklunch. Es besteht die Möglichkeit im Fluss zu schwimmen. Abendessen und Übernachtung in einer Gastfamilie im Dorf Moa.

Tag 9: Moa - Kababuru (FMA)

Am Morgen verlassen Sie Moa und wandern nach Kababuru. Ihr Weg führt Sie durch Dschungel und tropischen Regenwald. Sie werden je nach Kondition etwas 7 Stunden unterwegs sein. Die Geräusche des Waldes werden Sie begleiten und es ergeben sich verschiedenen Möglichkeiten zur Vogelbeobachtung. Picknicklunch unterwegs. Abendessen und Übernachtung in einem Zelt bei Kababuru (Camp). Wir empfehlen einen tropengeeigneten Schlafsack mitzubringen.

Tag 10: Kababuru - Donggala (FMA)

Bungalow Prince John Tauchresort © Prince John TauchresortBungalow Prince John TauchresortNach dem Frühstück wandern Sie weiter nach Gimpu. Für die heutige Wegstrecke werden Sie wahrscheinlich 5 Stunden benötigen. Picknicklunch unterwegs. Von Gimpu fahren Sie mit dem Auto nach Tanjung Karang im Distrikt Donggala. Abendessen und Übernachtung im Prince John Dive Resort.

Tag 11: Donggala (FMA)

Strand Prince John Tauchresort © Prince John TauchresortStrand Prince John TauchresortIn Donggala erwartet Sie am Morgen eine Rundfahrt mit dem Pferdewagen durch das beschauliche Dorf und den Hafen. Nach dem Mittagesessen Freizeit am weißen Sandstrand. Optional besteht auch die Möglichkeit an den umliegenden Riffen zu tauchen oder zu schnorcheln. Abendessen und Übernachtung im Hotel.

Tag 12: Donggala - Tourende Palu (Sulawesi) (F)

Nach dem Frühstück Transfer zum Flughafen von Palu.

Preise, Hotels & Informationen

Preise
Optionen Komfort Deluxe
Preis pro Person EUR 1.240,-
CHF 1.352,-
EUR 1.344,-
CHF 1.465,-
Individuelle Privatreise mit 2 Personen im Doppelzimmer.
Änderungen und Anpassungen der Reise an Ihre Wünsche sind natürlich möglich, setzen Sie sich einfach mit uns in Verbindung. Gruppenpreise (nur für geschlossene Privatgruppen, ab 4 Personen) auf Anfrage.
EZ-Zuschlag EUR 214,- EUR 244,-
Einzelreisende EUR 2.230,- EUR 2.415,-
Ihre Hotels für diese Reise
(Änderungen auf Ihre Wunschhotels sind natürlich kein Problem!)
OrtKomfort HotelsDeluxe Hotels
RantepaoToraja Misiliana Hotel

Standard
Toraja Heritage Hotel

Superior
PendoloHotel Mulia
Homestay/Guesthouse
Hotel Mulia
Homestay/Guesthouse
TentenaHotel Intim
Homestay/Guesthouse
Hotel Intim
Homestay/Guesthouse
BombaBomba Guesthouse
Homestay/Guesthouse
Bomba Guesthouse
Homestay/Guesthouse
TuareLocal People House
Homestay/Guesthouse
Local People House
Homestay/Guesthouse
MoaLocal People House
Homestay/Guesthouse
Local People House
Homestay/Guesthouse
KababuruLocal People House
Homestay/Guesthouse
Local People House
Homestay/Guesthouse
DonggalaPrince John Dive Resort

Bungalow
Prince John Dive Resort

Bungalow

Nutzen Sie die Reisetasche um sich Reisen für später zu merken und schnell über das Menue mit der Reisetasche (, erscheint sobald Sie eine Reise ablegen) wieder wieder aufzurufen - Oder um sie Ihrer Reiseanfrage hinzuzufügen wenn wir Ihr Interesse geweckt haben und Sie sich ein individuelles Angebot erstellen lassen möchten.

In Ihrer Reisetasche merken
Karte

Kommt noch

Informationen, Leistungen, Hinweise
Abfahrts-/Ankunftsort:

Makassar (Sulawesi) / Palu (Sulawesi)

Hotel/Flughafen Transfers:

Transfers inklusive von und zu den oben genannten Flughäfen und Hotels in der unmittelbaren Region.

Leistungen (inklusive):

Tourverlauf als Privattour
Englischsprachige Reiseleitung
Klimatisiertes Fahrzeug mit Fahrer
Übernachtungen: DZ angegebene/gleichwertige Hotels
Transfers, Eintrittsgelder und Besichtigungen laut Programm
Verpflegung wie angegeben:
11x Frühstück 11x Mittagessen/Lunchbox 11x Abendessen

Nicht enthalten sind:

Eigene Ausgaben
Zusatzleistungen (als "optional" gekennzeichnet)
Nicht genanntes Programm
Saisonaufschläge

Wichtige Hinweise:

Hinweis für Reisen in infrastrukturell schwache Gebiete:
Die Regionen außerhalb der Ballungszentren in Indonesien (Java und Bali) sowie Timor-Leste (Dili) sind zum Teil kaum touristisch entwickelt. Die nötige Infrastruktur in Form von regelmäßigen Flugverbindungen, Restaurants und Hotels von einfacher bis gehobener Kategorie befindet sich im Aufbau. Flugverspätungen und -streichungen sind üblich. Warmwasser in den Bädern, Klimaanlage und bequeme Betten in den Zimmern sind kein Standard, den man immer und überall erwarten kann. Möglicherweise haben die Sprachkenntnisse und Kommunikationsfähigkeiten der Guides nur einen geringen Umfang und können sehr von lokalen kulturellen Besonderheiten geprägt sein. Reisen durch diese Gebiete haben z.T. Expeditionscharakter. Das betrifft u.a. Reisen in Sumatra, Kalimantan, Sulawesi, die Kleinen Sunda-Inseln/Nusa Tenggara und andere Gebiete in Ostindonesien sowie Timor-Leste.
Die Mindestteilnehmerzahl beträgt 2 Personen. Preise für Einzelreisende auf Anfrage.
Bitte beachten Sie die Reiseinformationen und unsere Packliste für die Region.
Bei Reisen in islamische Länder kann es während dem Fastenmonat Ramadan, an hohen Feiertagen und Freitagen zu Beeinträchtigungen kommen.
Vulkanismus: Die Sunda-Inseln sind größtenteils vulkanischen Ursprungs und weisen hohe vulkanische Aktivität auf. Entsprechend ist es möglich, dass Routen oder Besichtigungen, insbesondere Besichtigungen von Vulkanen, auf Grund von aktueller Aktivität und daraus resultierenden Sperrungen geändert und durch Alternativprogramm/-routen ersetzt werden müssen. Den aktuellen Status der wichtigsten Vulkane finden Sie hier: Aktueller Status der Vulkane auf den Sunda-Inseln.

Flugempfehlung(en):

Wir empfehlen folgende Flugverbindungen und buchen diese gerne zusammen mit Ihrem Wunschprogramm für Sie:
Singapore Airlines/Silk Air Singapore Airlines/Silk Air (z.B. mit Singapore Stopover) nach Makassar (Sulawesi).
Zusätzlich benötigen Sie einen Inlandsflug von Palu (Sulawesi) nach Makassar (Sulawesi) den wir gerne für Sie buchen.
Dieser Inlandsflug ist mit Garuda Indonesia durchführbar und damit von der EU-Blacklist NICHT betroffen.
Bitte beachten Sie unbedingt die Reiseinformationen zu Inlandsflügen!

Reiseführer zu dieser Reise (bei Amazon):